Album Review: Bad Omens 



Bad Omens Self Titled Promo Image

The self-titled debut album of Bad Omens is set to be released on Friday, August 19th. The LA-based band whose lineup consists of vocalist Noah Sebastian, guitarists Nicholas Ryan and Joakim “Jolly” Karlsson, Vincent Riquier on bass, and Nick Folio on drums, got their start in 2014 and soon after signed to Sumerian Records in 2015. After a year of hard work and several singles, the release of their full-length album is on the horizon. The album itself is not Bad Omens’ debut in the Metal world or on the Metalcore scene, as they’ve been touring since their Sumerian signing with the likes of Metalcore and Deathcore bands (and labelmates) Born of Osiris, Upon A Burning Body, ERRA, and Veil of Maya, just to name a few. This fall, they’ll be heading out on Sumerian Records’ 10 Years In The Black tour, alongside Asking Alexandria, Born of Osiris, I See Stars, After The Burial, and Upon A Burning Body.

The track listing of Bad Omens is as follows:

  1. Glass Houses
  2. Exit Wounds
  3. The Worst In Me
  4. F E R A L
  5. Enough, Enough Now
  6. Malice
  7. Hedonist
  8. Broken Youth
  9. Crawl
  10. The Letdown
  11. Reprise (The Sound Of The End)
  12. The Fountain

While the title “Glass Houses” may bring to mind a Billy Joel album for some, instead of harmonicas and Hammonds, we’re met with rasping vocals ripping through a serene start alongside grooving rhythms and persistent pounding beats in this opening track. “Exit Wounds” feels like being caught in between a modern Hard Rock song and an old-school Thrash track as it alternates between the hard-hitting verses and melody-driven choruses – and as long as we’re on the topic of melodies, perhaps the most singable track of them all is “The Worst In Me” as the clean vocals are echoed by distant growls over tricky but memorable riffs. Music videos have also been released for all three of these tracks, which appear to have been met with excellent reception so far.

The touch of Producer Will Putney, who’s also worked with The Amity Affliction and The Acacia Strain among plenty others, effectively blends the distinct sound of the genre that such bands share with Bad Omens’ own unique touch and experimentation. Bad Omens explores many sounds, styles, and emotions while taking the listener along for the ride. From the tinge of industrial at the arrival of “F E R A L”, through the tragic piano and tortured screams in tracks like “Enough, Enough Now” and “Crawl”, across the haunting sounds of “Malice” and “The Fountain” and symphonic explorations of “The Letdown”. Along the way, the thrashing grooves of “Hedonist” paired with tracks like “Broken Youth” and “Reprise (The Sound Of The End)” are reminiscent of the bands whose company Bad Omens keeps on the road.

Bad Omens finds a great balance between melodic choruses and just the right amount of pervasive harshness so that, rather than being carried away by a soaring singable melody, you stay grounded in the knowledge that you’re listening to some of the darkest yet freshest of the Metalcore scene. Rather than sticking to the Metalcore genre label, however, the band keeps an open mind while keeping it heavy. There is an underlying ominous feeling surrounding almost every track on Bad Omens’ debut album that seems to live up to the band name. Nonetheless, Bad Omens’ debut can be seen as a good omen – that this up-and-coming band is well on their way to making a name for themselves, and they’re undoubtedly one to keep an eye on to see what else their future holds.

Rating: 4/5

For further information on Bad Omens, including music videos and pre-order links for the debut album, go to: Bad Omens|Official Website

Leave a Reply